傷害強迫症測試和症狀

關於傷害他人、親人或陌生人的不請自來和侵入性的想法。

當大多數人想到強迫症時,他們會想像有人是“細菌恐懼症”,或者反複檢查門是否鎖好,爐子確實關了。 雖然許多患有強迫症的人確實有清潔或檢查東西的衝動(不過,他們不一定喜歡它!),強迫症還有其他幾種表現在不同人身上的方式。 最令人驚訝和最常見的方式之一是關於傷害的主題。

什麼是傷害強迫症?

強迫症最令人不安的表現之一是經歷傷害他人的侵入性想法 - 也稱為傷害強迫症。 大多數強迫症患者將侵入性想法視為他們病情的一種症狀,但 Harm OCD 採取令人難以置信的令人痛苦的侵入性想法傷害他人的形式,並採取強制措施來確保這種情況不會或不會發生。

雖然每個人都可能有一個奇怪的轉瞬即逝的想法,想打一個對我們很粗魯的人或將某人推到公共汽車前面,但對於 Harm OCD 患者來說,這些想法會反復出現,並伴隨著他們可能會按照那個想法採取行動的恐懼。 反過來,這可能會變成對防止這種情況發生的強烈關注。 與其將這些想法視為一種很容易被忽視的奇怪的、轉瞬即逝的大腦功能障礙,Harm OCD 患者可能會將它們視為他們會對想法採取行動的標誌。 這是 Harm OCD 開始從根本上影響他們生活的時候。

 

    危害強迫症的跡象

    如果您認為自己可能患有傷害性強迫症,您可能會發現您在問自己“假設”問題(假設問題是所有形式的強迫症的共同特徵),與您是否會傷害某人有關,或者已經這樣做了在過去。 這些可能包括以下問題:

    • 如果我傷害或殺死我的孩子或其他易受傷害的親人怎麼辦?
    • 如果我內心深處是一個暴力的人並且將來會採取行動怎麼辦?
    • 如果我衝動行事並傷害了某人(例如,將某人推到火車前)怎麼辦?
    • 如果我傷害或自殺怎麼辦?

    強迫症本身是由強迫症和/或強迫症的存在定義的。 傷害強迫症的特點是可能被認為是“禁區”的痴迷,例如傷害易受傷害的人或明顯不值得傷害的人,例如無辜的旁觀者。 這些可能包括以下任何一項;

    • 您的孩子/新生嬰兒。 例如,您可能有將嬰兒從窗戶或樓梯上摔下的幻覺,並擔心您會對此採取行動。
    • 脆弱的老人或殘疾親屬。 您可能想傷害您所照顧的無法保護自己的人。
    • 行人(如果您正在開車)。 您可能會擔心您會撞到某人,然後在不知道自己已經這樣做的情況下開車。 或者說你會大發雷霆,故意撞到一些行人。
    • 街上隨便一個人。 您可能會擔心自己會在無緣無故的攻擊中突然強迫傷害您不認識的人。

    危害強迫症的常見強迫症

    除了這些想法之外,經歷過傷害強迫症的人還會通過參與有助於緩解他們對這些想法的焦慮的儀式(強迫)來對他們的侵入性想法做出反應。 這些強迫行為可以分為三大類:迴避、心理儀式和尋求安慰。

    迴避可能包括迴避某些人或地點(例如高層建築的陽台或車站月台)。 它還可能涉及避免在特定物體周圍,尤其是可能造成傷害的刀具或藥物等物品。 它還可能包括避免觀看新聞中的暴力電影或令人不安的圖像,以免引起對他人造成類似傷害的想法。

    心理儀式是所有形式的強迫症的共同特徵,傷害強迫症也不例外。 一個人可能從事的心理儀式可能包括:

    • 痴迷地祈禱任何人都不會受到傷害
    • 這個人相信會抵消他們可能有的任何邪惡想法的迷信儀式
    • 反複播放令人不安的情況,並思考如何處理它們
    • 試圖用好的想法代替“壞”的想法

    Harm OCD 的患者也可能試圖通過反複檢查某人是否受到傷害(例如,反复打電話或發短信以查看他們是否還好)或痴迷於在線研究暴力思想以及是否有人讓他們繼續對他們採取行動。

    如果您認為自己患有 Harm OCD,該怎麼辦?

    如果任何有害強迫症的跡象引起您的共鳴,並且您認為自己可能患有有害強迫症,那麼您可以採取的第一步是進行有害強迫症測試。 一個簡單的在線測試可能有助於正確看待您的想法,並讓您放心,擁有這些想法並沒有什麼可恥的(儘管如果您不是擁有這些想法的人,這很容易說出來!)。

    有多種治療 Harm OCD 的方法可能會在一定程度上減輕因有這種想法而引起的壓力和擔憂。

     

    治療傷害性強迫症

    危害強迫症患者的黃金標準治療是 ERP(暴露和反應預防療法)。 這是一種 CBT 形式,患者通過有計劃和戰略性的方式進行鍛煉,逐漸讓他們暴露在恐懼中。研究表明,這是治療 Harm OCD 的最有效方法,並且在超過三分之二的病例中取得成功.

    結合正念的CBT也被認為是治療後期治療Harm OCD的有效方法。 這種治療旨在改變您對想法的看法和反應,讓您不那麼認真地對待它們。 正念將幫助您感到更放鬆,並能夠在想法出現時應對。

    有些人將藥物視為最後的手段,但對於其他人來說,結合適當的心理治療和行為改變,這是控制症狀的有效方法。 藥物(最常見的 SSRIs)可以與其他治療結合使用,並且與 ERP 結合使用時最有效。

    如果您認為自己可能患有傷害性強迫症,最好的做法是去看醫生或治療師,他們會評估您的症狀並建議您採取最佳行動方案來幫助您。

Select Page

Harm OCD – Symptoms & Test

Uninvited and intrusive thoughts about harming other people, loved ones, or strangers.

When most people think of OCD, they imagine someone who is a “germophobe” or who repeatedly checks that doors are locked and that stove is indeed turned off. While many people with OCD do have a compulsion to clean or check things (they don’t necessarily enjoy it, though!), there are several other ways that OCD manifests itself in different people. One of the most surprising and common ways is regarding themes of harm.

What is Harm OCD?

One of the most troubling manifestations of OCD is experiencing intrusive thoughts of harming others – otherwise known as Harm OCD. Most OCD sufferers experience intrusive thoughts as a symptom of their condition, but Harm OCD takes the form of incredibly distressing intrusive thoughts harming others and engages in compulsions that are enacted as a means to ensure this has not or will not happen.

While everyone might have the odd fleeting thought about punching someone who has been rude to us or pushing someone in front of a bus, for the Harm OCD sufferer, these thoughts are repeated and are accompanied by a fear that they might act on that thought. This, in turn, can turn into an intense preoccupation with preventing that situation from happening. Rather than treating the thoughts as a weird, fleeting, brain malfunction that is easily dismissed, the Harm OCD sufferer might see them as a sign they will act on the thought. This is when Harm OCD starts radically affecting their lives.

 

    Signs of Harm OCD

    If you think you may have Harm OCD, you may find that you are asking yourself ‘what-if’ questions (what-if questions are a common feature of all forms of OCD) related to whether you could harm someone, or have done so in the past. These might include questions such as:

    • What if I harm or kill my child or another vulnerable loved one?
    • What if I am deep down a violent person and will act out in future?
    • What if I act on a violent impulse and hurt someone (push someone in front of a train, for example)?
    • What if I harm or kill myself?

    OCD, in itself, is defined by the presence of an obsession and/or compulsions. Harm OCD is characterised by obsessions that may be considered ‘off-limits’, such as hurting someone vulnerable or someone clearly undeserving of harm, like an innocent bystander, for example. These might include any of the following;

    • Your child/newborn baby. You may have visions of dropping a baby out of the window or down the stairs, for example, and worry that you will act on it.
    • A vulnerable elderly or disabled relative. You might have thoughts of hurting someone you are caring for who is not able to defend themselves.
    • A pedestrian (if you are driving). You may worry that you will hit someone and then drive off unaware that you have done so. Or that you will have a fit of rage and deliberately plough into some pedestrians.
    • A random person in the street. You may be concerned that you will have a sudden compulsion to hurt someone you do not know in an unprovoked attack.

    Common Compulsions of Harm OCD

    In addition to having these thoughts, people who experience Harm OCD will react to their intrusive thoughts by engaging in rituals (compulsions) that help relieve their anxiety about the thoughts. These compulsive behaviours can be divided into three primary categories: avoidance, mental rituals, and the seeking of reassurance.

    Avoidance could include avoiding certain people or locations (such as balconies in high buildings or station platforms). It might also involve avoiding being around particular objects, especially items such as knives or medication that could cause harm. It might also include avoiding watching violent films or disturbing images on the news for fear that it might induce thoughts of causing similar harm to others.

    Mental rituals are a common feature of all forms of OCD, and Harm OCD is no exception. Mental rituals that a person may engage in could include;

    • Obsessively praying that no harm will occur to anyone
    • Superstitious rituals that the person believes will counteract any evil thoughts they may be having
    • Repeatedly playing out scenarios of troubling situations and thinking how they might handle them
    • Trying to replace ‘bad’ thoughts with good ones

    Sufferers of Harm OCD may also try to seek reassurance about their thoughts by repeatedly checking that no harm has come to someone (repeatedly calling or texting them to see if they are OK, for example) or obsessively researching online about violent thoughts and whether people who have them go on to act on them.

    What should you do if you think you have Harm OCD?

    If any of the signs of Harm OCD resonate with you and you think you may have Harm OCD, one of the first steps you can take is to take a Harm OCD test. A simple online test might help to put your thoughts in perspective and reassure you that there is nothing shameful about having these thoughts (although that is easy to say if you are not the one having the thoughts!).

    There are various methods of treatment for Harm OCD that may go some way to alleviating the stress and worry caused by having such thoughts.

     

    Treatment for Harm OCD

    The gold-standard treatment for sufferers of Harm OCD is ERP (Exposure and Response Prevention Therapy). This is a form of CBT whereby the patient engages in exercises that gradually expose them to their fears in a planned and strategic way.Research demonstrates that this is the most effective way of treating Harm OCD and is successful in more than two-thirds of cases.

    CBT that incorporates mindfulness is also considered to be an effective way of treating Harm OCD in the latter stages of treatment. This treatment aims to change how you see and react to your thoughts, so you take them less seriously. Mindfulness will help you feel more relaxed and able to cope when the thoughts arise.

    Some see medication as a last resort, but for others it is an effective way to manage their symptoms when combined with appropriate psychotherapy and behavior change. Medication (most commonly SSRIs) can be used in conjunction with other treatments and is most effective when combined with ERP.

    If you think you may have Harm OCD, the best course of action is to see your physician or a therapist who will assess your symptoms and advise you on the best course of action to help you.